FIFA’s Infantino sends message to elected Somali Football Federation President – At a glance

The President of the World Football Body, FIFA has congratulated newly elected President of the Somali Football Federation (SFF), Ali Abdi Mohamed.

”It is with pleasure that I express my most sincere congratulations on your election as President of the Somali Football Federation following the election, which took place on Wednesday 22 February 2023 in Mogadishu, Somalia,”
said the communication signed by Gianni Infantino dated March 3rd, 2023.

The FIFA President also pointed out that Ali Abdi Mohamed’s election is an indication of the trust of members and confidence in his leadership.

“Congratulations to the members of your Executive Committee who were also elected with you. I wish you and your Executives everything of the best during the new period of your leadership,” added Infantino.

The newly elected President of SFF said he was hallp FIFA President has congratulated him and it is now time to work and develop football in Somalia. “I want to thank FIFA, CAF and the government of Somalia for all the support to ensure that we have normalcy back in the Football affairs in Somalia,” said a happy Ali Abdi Mohamed.

He said it is time to make sure that several local competitions are put in place and also for Somalia to enter as many International tournaments as possible to give the youngsters a good platform to improve. “I thank the members who elected me and together with all stakeholders we shall work hard to make sure Football in Somalia gets better,” he added.

Thirty four delegates elected Ali Abdi Mohamed unopposed on February 22nd, 2023 during the General Assembly held at Elite Hotel in Mogadishu, Somalia.

The newly elected SFF President, his Vice President and General Secretary are expected to attend the FIFA Congress in Kigali, Rwanda on March 16th, 2023.

Apart from Ali Abdi Mohamed as President, the other SFF Executive members elected include; Ahmed Farah Takal (1st Vice President, Abdirashid Abdulle Mohamed (2nd Vice President) and Yusuf Hussein Mumin (3rd Vice President). The Committee Members include: Yaxye Mohamed Abukar, Fahmo Kulle Ali (Women representative), Omar Mohamud Nor, Abukar Islow Hassan, Mohamed Ali Isse, Bashir Salad Bare, Abdikani Abdullahi Abow

Written by admin