Ibrahim Gusau emerges as new Nigeria FA President – At a glance

Ibrahim Musa Gusau was on Friday elected the new President of Nigeria Football Federation in Benin City.

Until his election, Gusau, who was former Chairman of Chairmen of Nigeria Football, and also Chairman of the Zamfara State Football Association will succeed Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick who was in the role for the past eight years.

The 58-year old garnered 21 votes to defeat former 1st Vice President Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi and former 2nd Vice President Shehu Dikko with 12 and six votes respectively in the first round.

Heading into a rerun, Akinwunmi, who is Chairman of the Lagos State Football Association, Dikko, Abba Yola ( with one vote), announced their withdrawals. 

However, former international goalkeeper Peterside Idah with one vote in the first round failed to step down only to earn just one vote in run-off, as Gusau coasted home with 39 votes.

In other results, Felix Anyansi-Agwu, long-term Chairman of two-time CAF Champions League winners Enyimba, emerged the 1st Vice President by trashing Chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth and Sports Development, Senator Obinna Ogba by 23 votes to 8.

While, Yusuf Ahmed Fresh was unopposed for the position of Chairman of Chairmen, as Sharif Rabiu Inuwa had won the North West slot unopposed.

In North Central zone, Margaret Icheen was elected from the North Central zone, edging incumbent Alhaji Mohammed Alkali by 22 votes to 19 in a run-off, just as incumbent Babagana Kalli and newman Timothy Henman Magaji claimed the two North-East slots.

For South East zone, the election was suspended due to administrative technicality, while Rt. Hon. Essien Udofot and Ms Aisha Falode won the two seats available from the South-South zone.

The tightly contested in South West saw the emergence of Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi of Ondo State and Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi of Ogun State after a rerun.

Written by admin